Run for a Cleaner Environment 2006

The West Bengal Pollution Control Board organised 'Clean and Green West Bengal' in association with Department of Sports, Government of West Bengal, Bengal Olympic Association, South Kolkata Sports Development Council and East Kolkata Sports Development Council. Over 1200 people ran on the streets of Kolkata on Sunday, February 19, 2006. This Run was the flag-off event to Rajya Paribesh Mela 2006.

The Run started off at Esplanade Crossing at 8:00 a.m. Various dignitaries were present during the flag-off ceremony of the Run. Shri Manabendra Mukherjee (Hon'ble Minister-in-charge, Departments of Information Technology & Environment, Government of West Bengal), Shri Subhash Chakraborty (Departments of Transport & Sports, Government of West Bengal), Shri Bikash Ranjan Bhattacharya (Hon'ble Mayor, Kolkata Municipal Corporation) and Shri Buddhadeb Guha (litterateur) were among the dignitaries who attended the flag-off ceremony of the Run.

The 11-km Run took the following route:
Via Lenin Sarani - Moulali - Sealdah - Beliaghata Main Road - Alochhaya Cinema Hall - Raja R.L. Mitra Road - Phoolbagan - Narkeldanga Main Road - Kadapara - EM Bypass - Paribesh Bhaban Crossing - Sports Authority of India (SAI) Eastern Region Complex - Yubabharati Krirangan via Stadel Gate.

The Run ended at Yuba Bharati Krirangan. Representatives of the sports world, schools, NGOs and general public greeted the participants of the Run with great enthusiasm. A total of 1500 people were part of this Run that was first ever organised in the state with a green cause. The first ten participants of the Run were awarded with prize money, event plaques, trophies and flower bouquets. Shri Sujit Kumar Halder of Joynagar, 24 Parganas (South) bagged the first prize. The final result of the Run is given in the table below :

Position Name
First Shri Sujit Kumar Halder (Joynagar, 24 Pgs.(S)
Second Shri Uttam Biswas (Habibpur, Nadia)
Third Shri Tapas Sinha Roy Chowdhury (Gayaspur, Kalyani, Nadia)
Fourth Hafizul Mondal (Boral, Garia, 24 Pgs. (S)
Fifth Shri Utpal Mondal (Rabindra Sarobar Training Centre)
Sixth Shri Ranjit Biswas (Beliaghata Main Road)
Seventh Shri Subrata Mondal (Baruipur, 24 Pgs.(S)
Eighth Shri Subodh Bala (Beliaghata Main Road)
Ninth Shri Asit Purakayet (Baruipur, 24 Pgs.(S)
Tenth Shri Goutam Prosad (Narkeldanga, Kolkata)